Cancellara won Paris-Roubaix with Sprint Victory on the Velodrome


RadioShack Leopard’s Fabian Cancellara won the breathtaking sprint ahead of Sep Vanmarcke of Blanco and got his third Paris-Roubaix title of his career. Cancellara showed impressive performance so far in the spring classics, winning Ronde van Vlaanderen and E3 Harelbeke.

There was a 13-rider breakaway early in the day but got caught by the surging peloton pretty early which led to a new break to form, likewise got caught after an hour of attacking. But this escape and chase efforts thinned the peloton to 40-odd riders quite early in the race and finally a leading group shaped in the front with 13 riders and 25 kilometers to go.

Sep Vanmarcke and Stijn Vandenbergh attacked within the group and extended their lead to 40 seconds but Cancellara increased the pace with Zdenak Stybar on his backwheel and regrouped with the front duo. But on the cobbled sectors, Vanderbergh and Stybar crashed one after the other, Cancellara and Vanmarcke taking the lead under the 10 km banner.

They entered the Roubaix velodrome together, Vanmarcke led out the sprint but Cancellara was more calm and strong in the final meters and won his third Roubaix title and his second Flanders / Roubaix double.

Omega Pharma QuickStep’s Niki Terpstra sealed the final place on the podium by winning the sprint amongst the chasing group.

Final 4 kilometers:

Paris-Roubaix 2013 Results:

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Leopard 5:45:33
2. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team Blanco
3. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma – Quick Step 31″
4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC
5. Damien Gaudin (Fra) Team Europcar
6. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma Quick Step 39″
7. Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge
8. Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) Vacansoleil-DCM
9. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha 50″
10. Sébastien Turgot (Fra) Team Europcar