Strade-Bianche 2013


A very new addition to the European calendar, 1.1 ranked Strade-Bianche, in its 7th edition finally got an Italian winner. Moreno Moser of Cannondale clinched not only his first victory of the season but the most important one of his career as well.

Within the last 20 kilometers, the 22 year-old Italian made a successful attempt and with 15km to go, got to the backwheel of  Flecha, who was relentlessly chasing the 4-rider breakaway group.  Moser’s attack changed things dramatically as well in the breakaway group and after some attacks within the 4 riders, things eventually settled when Moser managed to catch Schar and Belkov from the original breakaway and once again formed a 4 rider group. But it was Moser who was hiding in the peloton most of the race compared to the other original riders in the breakaway group, so when they hit the last hill with a kilometer to go,  Moser easily pushed himself ahead and soloed to his greatest victory so far.

Within the bunch of main contenders, Peter Sagan burst clear to snatch the second place, whereas it was Rinaldo Nocentini who got the last spot in the podium out-sprinting last year’s winner Fabian Cancellara and Alexander Kolobnev. Could Sagan catch the breakaway group if it was not his team-mate Moser? We’ll never know that but that was a wonderful day for team Cannondale and the new generation of cyclists in their early 20s.

Strade-Bianche 2013 results:

1. Moreno Moser (Cannondale Pro Cycling) 5:01:53
2. Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling) 5″
3. Rinaldo Nocentini (AG2R La Mondiale) 7″

4. Fabian Cancellara (RadioShack Leopard)
5. Aleksejs Saramotins (IAM Cycling)
6. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team)
7. Alexander Kolobnev (Katusha)
8. Francesco Reda (Androni Giocattoli)
9. Giampaolo Caruso (Katusha) 10″
10. Maxim Belkov (Katusha) 13″
11. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) 15″
12. Simone Ponzi (Astana Pro Team) 17″
13. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Movistar Team)
14. Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana Pro Team) 19″
15. Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (Movistar Team) 21″
16. Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida)
17. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar Team) 23″
18. Tom Jelte Slagter (Blanco Pro Cycling Team)
19. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil-DCM)
20. Fabio Aru (Astana Pro Team) 27″
21. Michael Schar (BMC Racing Team) 31″
22. Matthias Brandle (IAM Cycling)
23. Oscar Gatto (Vini Fantini-Selle Italia) 44″
24. Riccardo Chiarini (Androni Giocattoli) 1′ 34″
25. Pavel Brutt (Katusha) 1′ 39″
26. Sébastien Reichenbach (IAM Cycling)
27. Francois Parisien (Team Argos-Shimano)
28. Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) 1′ 43″
29. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli)
30. Lars Petter Nordhaug NO Blanco Pro Cycling Team)
31. Fredrik Kessiakoff SW Astana Pro Team)
32. Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Vacansoleil-DCM) 1′ 58″
33. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM) 2′ 48″
34. Kristjan Koren (Cannondale Pro Cycling)
35. Rob Ruijgh (Vacansoleil-DCM)
36. Sébastien Delfosse (Crelan-Euphony)
37. Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Movistar Team)
38. Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox)
39. Andrea Pasqualon (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox)
40. Thomas Rohregger (RadioShack Leopard)
41. Mauro Finetto (Vini Fantini-Selle Italia)
42. Thomas Dekker (Garmin-Sharp)
43. Paul Martens (Blanco Pro Cycling Team)
44. Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Movistar Team)
45. Elia Favilli (Lampre-Merida) 2′ 53″
46. Giairo Ermeti (Androni Giocattoli) 6′ 20″
47. Reto Hollenstein (IAM Cycling) 6′ 47″
48. Rohan Dennis (Garmin-Sharp) 6′ 51″
49. Dominic Klemme (IAM Cycling) 6′ 56″
50. Alessandro Vanotti (Astana Pro Team) 7′ 25″
51. Fabio Sabatini (Cannondale Pro Cycling) 8′ 8″
52. Maciej Bodnar (Cannondale Pro Cycling)
53. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Sharp) 11′ 7″
54. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp)
55. Boy Van Poppel (Vacansoleil-DCM)
56. Baptiste Planckaert (Crelan-Euphony)
57. Alessandro Malaguti (Androni Giocattoli)
58. Yaroslav Popovych (RadioShack Leopard)
59. Manuel Quinziato (BMC Racing Team)
60. Pirmin Lang (IAM Cycling)
61. Steven Cummings (BMC Racing Team)
62. Brian Vandborg (Cannondale Pro Cycling)
63. Giacomo Nizzolo (RadioShack Leopard) 11′ 20″
64. Matthew Busche (RadioShack Leopard) 11′ 48″
65. Taylor Phinney (BMC Racing Team)
66. Marcel Wyss (IAM Cycling)
67. Matteo Di Serafino (Androni Giocattoli)
68. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre-Merida)
69. Aleksandr Kuschynski (Katusha)
70. Pim Ligthart (Vacansoleil-DCM)
71. Wesley Kreder (Vacansoleil-DCM)
72. Tanel Kangert (Astana Pro Team) 11′ 53″
73. Stijn Steels (Crelan-Euphony) 12′ 2″
74. Dmitriy Gruzdev (Astana Pro Team) 12′ 16″
75. Klaas Sys (Crelan-Euphony) 17′ 33″
76. Marco Canola (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox)
77. Matteo Pelucchi (IAM Cycling) 17′ 43″
78. Christophe Premont (Crelan-Euphony) 17′ 46″
79. Nicola Boem (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox) 17′ 49″