Chris Froome wins Criterium International in Impressive SKY One-Two


Chris Froome, last year’s runner-up in Tour de France behind team-captain Bradley Wiggins, kept his impressive form in Criterium International winning the queen stage of this mini-tour, the mountain-top finish in Col De l’Ospedale.

SKY took the charge as the riders started climbing the Col De l’Ospedale, Vasil Kiryienka putting a great effort and shaking the peloton down to 20 riders. And with 6 kilometers to go, IAM Cycling’s Johann Tschopp escaped and eventually dropped Kiryienka. But it was Chris Froome destroying the field with his solo attack, later followed by Paris-Nice champion Richie Porte, who finished the stage in second place. Despite huge expectations, BMC’s Tejay van Garderen only managed to grab the last podium spot thanks to his time-trial performance in stage 2.

SKY once again dominated the climb and spread fear amongst their rivals as the grand tours are approaching.

“It wasn’t my intention to attack so early on in the climb but Richie sat off a little bit and gave me a gap and no one chased,” Froome said about his attack. “So I pushed on a bit knowing that he could stay protected behind other wheels, which allowed him to attack in the final couple of kilometres himself. So we couldn’t have asked for better”

Final Kilometers

Final General Classification

1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 6:55:23
2. Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling 32″
3. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 54″
4. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 1′ 00″
5. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
6. Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp 1′ 08″
7. Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 1′ 33″
8. Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ 1′ 37″
9. Johann Tschopp (Swi) IAM Cycling 1′ 43″
10. John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 2′ 05″

Stage 3 Results

1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 4:43:38
2. Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling 30″
3. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 45″

4. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
5. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
6. Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp 53″
7. Johann Tschopp (Swi) IAM Cycling 57″
8. John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 1′ 07″
9. Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ 1′ 08″
10. Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
11. Davide Malacarne (Ita) Team Europcar 1′ 32″
12. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
13. Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack Leopard 1′ 49″
14. Jerome Coppel (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 2′ 14″
15. Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
16. Amaël Moinard (Fra) BMC Racing Team 2′ 46″
17. Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling 2′ 50″
18. Bob Jungels (Lux) RadioShack Leopard 3′ 15″
19. Maxime Monfort (Bel) RadioShack Leopard 3′ 22″
20. Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Sojasun 4′ 07″
21. Antoine Lavieu (Fra) La Pomme Marseille 4′ 27″
22. Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Sojasun
23. Sergio Miguel Moreira Paulinho (Por) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 4′ 59″
24. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 5′ 07″
25. Jesus Hernandez Blazquez (Spa) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 5′ 45″
26. Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 6′ 06″
27. Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia 6′ 23″
28. Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) Sky Procycling 6′ 34″
29. Benjamin King (USA) RadioShack Leopard
30. Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team
31. Clément Koretzky (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
32. John Darwin Atapuma Hurtado Col) Colombia 6′ 43″
33. Jonathan Fumeaux (Swi) IAM Cycling 7′ 08″
34. Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ 9′ 33″
35. Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
36. Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack Leopard
37. Fabien Schmidt (Fra) Sojasun
38. Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Argos-Shimano
39. Julien El Fares (Fra) Sojasun
40. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
41. Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team
42. Manuele Boaro (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 11′ 07″
43. Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) IAM Cycling 11′ 11″
44. Grégoire Tarride (Fra) La Pomme Marseille 12′ 08″
45. Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ 13′ 12
46. Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar 13′ 30″
47. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Sky Procycling
48. Jérémy Roy (Fra) FDJ 14′ 06″
49. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 14′ 56″
50. Rory Sutherland (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
51. Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano
52. Michael Rodriguez Galindo (Col) Colombia 17′ 08″
53. Bram Tankink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
54. Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement 18′ 28″
55. Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Sojasun 19′ 11″
56. Andy Schleck (Lux) RadioShack Leopard 21′ 57″
57. Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale
58. Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Sojasun
59. Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
60. Wilson Alexander Marentes Torres (Col) Colombia 22′ 20″
OTL Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
OTL Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano
OTL Marco Corti (Ita) Colombia
OTL Jeffry Johan Romero Corredor (Col) Colombia
OTL Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia
OTL Jens Voigt (Ger) RadioShack Leopard
OTL José Goncalves (Por) La Pomme Marseille
OTL Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
OTL Sebastian Lander (Den) BMC Racing Team
OTL Laurent Didier (Lux) RadioShack Leopard
OTL Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
OTL Romain Hardy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
OTL Cyril Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
OTL Rémy Cusin (Fra) IAM Cycling
DNF Alexandr Pliuschin (Mda) IAM Cycling
DNF Patrick Schelling (Swi) IAM Cycling
DNF Julien Antomarchi (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
DNF Yoann Paillot (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
DNF Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ
DNF Alexandre Geniez (Fra) FDJ
DNF Matthias Brandle (Aut) IAM Cycling
DNF Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
DNF Ji Cheng (Chn) Team Argos-Shimano
DNF Jay McCarthy (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
DNF Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ
DNF Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
DNF Theo Bos (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
DNF Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
DNF Geoffroy Lequatre (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
DNF Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Team Argos-Shimano
DNF Thierry Hupond (Fra) Team Argos-Shimano
DNF Yann Huguet (Fra) Team Argos-Shimano
DNF Julio Alexis Camacho Bernal (Col) Colombia
DNF Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Argos-Shimano
DNF Dominik Nerz (Ger) BMC Racing Team
DNF Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Sojasun
DNF Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
DNF Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA) Sky Procycling
DNF Xabier Zandio Echaide (Spa) Sky Procycling
DNF Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
DNF Julian Kern (Ger) AG2R La Mondiale
DNF Jérémy Bescond (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
DNF Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Team Europcar
DNF Kévin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar
DNF Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar
DNF Jonathan Tiernan-Locke (GBr) Sky Procycling
DNF Caleb Fairly (USA) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Paul Poux (Fra) Sojasun
DNF Raymond Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Thomas Rostollan (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
DNF Yannick Martinez (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
DNF Justin Jules (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
DNF Graeme Brown (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
DNF Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement
DNF Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Angelo Tulik (Fra) Team Europcar
DNF Giovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Team Europcar
DNF Rohan Dennis (Aus) Garmin-Sharp
DNS Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Garmin-Sharp